Music for All Announces Ensembles Invited to Participate in National Festival

by Victoria Wasylak • in
  • Supplier Scene
• Created: January 4, 2018

Share This:

Hailing from 20 different states, 71 concert bands, orchestras, choirs, percussion ensembles, and chamber ensembles have been selected to perform at the 27th annual Music for All National Festival, presented by Yamaha.

The festival will take place from March 15 to 17, 2018 in Indianapolis. Ensembles were selected following a recorded audition process. 

The Music for All National Festival showcases the finest high school and middle school music ensembles and student musicians in America, shining a spotlight on outstanding music-making and the importance of music education. Being invited is the achievement: with no ratings or rankings awarded, the non-competitive Festival provides a supportive environment for cooperative encouragement for all of the ensembles.  Evaluators give feedback on the performances, and groups receive a post-concert clinic for future growth, providing an educational experience for both teachers and students. The ensembles also participate in master classes and special events.

The Music for All National Festival takes place in Indianapolis’ finest concert venues, and is comprised of several events:  National Concert Band Festival, Orchestra America National Festival, National Choir Festival, Sandy Feldstein National Percussion Festival, Middle School National Music Festival, Chamber Music National Festival, and three national honor ensembles: The Honor Band of America, the Honor Orchestra of America, and the Jazz Band of America. With the premiere of the National Choir Festival at the 2018 event, the Festival now includes all types of large ensembles that traditionally are part of a school music program – band, orchestra, and choir.

The Festival also includes three national honor ensembles. Dr. Scott Weiss, Director of Band, University of South Carolina will conduct the Honor Band of America. Larry Livingston, Music Director Chair, Conducting Department, Thornton School of Music, University of Southern California will conduct the Honor Orchestra of America. Jeff Rupert, Director of Jazz Studies, University of Central Florida, Yamaha Performing Artist will conduct the Jazz Band of America. 

The selected performers include:

Conner H.S. Chamber Choir – Hebron, KY; John DeFerraro
Dobyns-Bennett H.S. Varsity Choir – Kingsport, TN; Jenny Rogers
Herricks H.S. Chamber Choir – New Hyde Park, NY; Louise O’Hanlon
Kings H.S. Chamber Choir – Kings Mills, OH; Hope Milthaler
Lafayette H.S. Madrigal Singers – Lexington, KY; Ryan Marsh
Liberty H.S. Chamber Singers – Colorado Springs, CO; A. J. Wulf
Little Miami H.S. Select Women’s Chorale – Morrow, OH; Sarah J. Baker
Logan H.S. Chamber Singers – Logan, OH; John McClain
McMeans Junior H.S. Varsity Choir – Katy, TX; Steve Kalke
Miami Union Academy Concert Choir – North Miami, FL; Jeremy Sovoy Jordan
Oakwood Adventist Academy Choir  – Huntsville, AL; Justin Jordan 
Takoma Academy Chorale – Takoma Park, MD; Lulu Mwangi Mupfumbu

Beck Junior High Chamber Orchestra – Katy, TX; Barbara Nelsen
Hanford H.S. String Orchestra – Richland, WA; Christopher Newbury
Hanford H.S. Symphony Orchestra – Richland, WA; Christopher Newbury
Hildebrandt Intermediate School Chamber Orchestra – Spring, TX; Alexandra Jackson
Klein Collins H.S. Symphony Orchestra – Klein, TX; Carlos Lara
New World Youth Symphony Orchestra – Indianapolis, IN; Adam Bodony
Seven Lakes H.S. Combined Orchestras – Katy, TX; Herbert Anzora and Desiree Overree 

Percussion Ensembles
Ashley Ridge H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Summerville, SC; William Register
Creekview H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Carrollton, TX; Nathan Sundberg
DeKalb H.S. Percussion Ensemble – DeKalb, IL; Steven Lundin
Dickerson M.S. Percussion Ensemble – Marietta, GA; Scott Brown
Friendswood H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Friendswood, TX; Julio Sanchez
Klein Forest H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Houston, TX; Joseph MacMorran
Prosper H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Prosper, TX; Michael Huestis
Seguin H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Seguin, TX; Craig Turner
Union H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Camas, WA; Mark Claassen
University H.S. Percussion Ensemble – Orlando, FL; Jeffrey Willis

Middle School Bands
Bayside Intermediate School Wind Ensemble – League City, TX; Kyle Mapp
Friendswood Junior High Symphonic Band – Friendswood, TX; Sarah Bennett
Hudson Bend M.S. Honors Band – Austin, TX; Ryan O’Donoghue
Kinard Core Knowledge M.S. Symphonic Band – Fort Collins, CO; Mike Perez
Krimmel Intermediate Symphonic Band – Spring, TX; Sharon Kalisek
Mason M.S. Symphonic Winds – Mason, OH; Jason Sleppy
West Ridge M.S. Wind Ensemble – Austin, TX; Susan Glover

Chamber Ensembles
Cypress Fairbanks ISD Honor Clarinet Choir – Houston, TX; Mary Running
Huntley H.S. Saxophone Quartet – Huntley, IL; Philip Carter
McLean H.S. Chamber Winds – McLean, VA; Deidra Denson
Mountain View H.S. Chamber Strings – Vancouver, WA; Sam Ormson
Salyards M.S. Flute Ensemble – Cypress, TX; Joe Glass
Seguin H.S. Saxophone Ensemble – Seguin, TX; Stan Mauldin
Seven Lakes H.S. Chamber Strings – Katy, TX; Desiree Overree
Stephenson H.S. Trombone Choir – Stone Mountain, GA; Quentin R. Goins
Victor J. Andrew H.S. Flute Quartet – Tinley Park, IL; Mark Iwinski

Featured Bands
Cherry Creek H.S. Wind Ensemble – Greenwood Village, CO; Tim Libby
Creekview H.S. Wind Symphony – Carrollton, TX; Arturo Denis
Cuthbertson H.S. Blue Note Winds – Waxhaw, NC; Todd Ebert
Cypress Ranch H.S. Wind Ensemble – Cypress, TX; Russell Holcombe
Dillard H.S. Wind Orchestra – Fort Lauderdale, FL; Sheldon McLean
Germantown H.S. Symphonic Band – Madison, MS; Justin Harvison
James W. Robinson Secondary School Symphonic Band – Fairfax, VA; Andrew Loft
Jefferson Forest H.S. Wind Symphony – Forest, VA; David Webb
Jenks H.S. Wind Symphony – Jenks, OK; Scott Hillock
Klein Collins H.S. Wind Ensemble – Klein, TX; Chris Rugila
Lockport Township H.S. Wind Symphony – Lockport, IL; Brian Covey
Mansfield Legacy H.S. Wind Symphony – Mansfield, TX; Adam Hoffmann
Palmer Ridge H.S. Wind Ensemble – Monument, CO; Raleigh Eversole
Palo Verde H.S. Wind Orchestra – Las Vegas, NV; David Irish
Seven Lakes H.S. Wind Symphony – Katy, TX; John Mays
University H.S. Wind Ensemble – Orange City, FL; David Martin

Invited Bands
Blacksburg H.S. Symphonic Band – Blacksburg, VA; Darrell Pearman
Chantilly H.S. Symphonic Winds – Chantilly, VA; Douglas Maloney
Conroe H.S. Wind Ensemble – Conroe, TX; Bobby Heathcock
Denver School of the Arts Wind Ensemble – Denver, CO; Dave Hammond
Evergreen H.S. Wind Symphony – Vancouver, WA; Brent Johnson
Joliet West H.S. Symphonic Band – Joliet, IL; Eric Wellman
Norcross H.S. Wind Symphony – Norcross, GA; Lee Newman
Parkway H.S. Wind Symphony – Bossier City, LA; Mark Minton
Sapulpa H.S. Wind Ensemble – Sapulpa, OK; Craig Amendt
West Boca Raton Community H.S. Wind Ensemble – Boca Raton, FL; Larry Shane

Share This:

Leave a Comment:

Check Out Some Past MMR Magazine Issues