Rolling Stone & D’Addario Announce 30 Best Young Guitarists of 2014

by Paige Tutt • in
  • Supplier Scene
• Created: December 12, 2014

Share This:

In an effort to welcome a new generation of players, Rolling Stone partnered with D'Addario to identify up-and-comers with the potential to become the next class of guitar legends.

The list, curated by Rolling Stone’s top editors, features 30 notable players, introducing one new artist each week. The artists highlighted were profiled and interviewed, and viewers are able to experience their inspiring perfomances via video and audio clips.

Additionally, seven of these musicians were chosen to participate in Guitar Power, a D’Addario-sponsored video jam session and interview with guitarist Matt Sweeney, which is also posted within the Young Guns hub. Those featured were Tosin Abasi, Kurt Vile, Dave Harrington, Theresa Wayman, Blake Mills, Steve Gunn, and Kerry McCoy.

“To be able to highlight so many great young guitarists that might never have received such attention in Rolling Stone has been incredible,” says Jeffrey Kaye, Global Artist Relations Direction at D’Addario & Co., Inc.

The full list of Rolling Stone Young Guns is as follows:

April 28th: Guthrie Trapp

May 5th: Derek Miller (Sleigh Bells)

May 12th: Adam Granduciel (The War on Drugs)

May 19th: Jackie Green

May 27th: James Petralli (White Denim)

June 2nd: Marnie Stern

June 9th: William Tyler

June 16th: Chris Letchford (Scale the Summit)

June 23rd: Bombino

June 30th: Gary Clark Jr.

July 7th: Evan P. Donohue, Brent Toler, Evan Bird, and Emmett Miller (Diarrhea Planet)

July 14th: Sean Kennedy (Blood Ceremony)

July 21st: Tobin Abasi & Javier Reyes (Animals as Leaders)

July 28th: Dave Harrington (Darkside)

August 4th: Erik Nelson (Vektor)

August 11th: Kurt Vile

August 18th: Kevin Parker (Tame Impala)

August 25th: Marissa Paternoster (Screaming Females)

September 2nd: Blake Mills

September 8th: Jordan Cook (Reignwolf)

September 15th: Angel Olsen

September 22nd Misha Mansoor (Periphery)

September 29th: Theresa Wayman (Warpaint)

October 6th: Steve Gunn

October 14th: Ty Segall

October 20th: Mark McGuire

Octover 27th: J.D. Simo

November 3rd: Johan Wieth (Iceage)

November 10th: Kerry McCoy (Deafheaven)

December 9th: Marcus Machado (The Next Young Gun Contest Winner)

Share This:

Leave a Comment:

Check Out Some Past MMR Magazine Issues