Working from home? Switch to the DIGITAL edition of Musical Merchandise Review. CLICK HERE to signup now!
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

NAMM Announces Global Livestream of Artist Performances at Believe in Music Week

Christian Wissmuller • MMR GlobalUpfront • December 17, 2020
On Wednesday, January 20 during NAMM’s Believe in Music week, over 40 emerging and established artists from 23 countries and six continents will come together for 12 hours of livestream concert performances in a musical celebration at NAMM’s Believe in Music week Global Livestream.

The performances will start at 6:00 a.m. PT with 11-time Australian Blues Music award-winner, and a musician Rolling Stone Australia calls an “Oz Roots & Blues Icon,” Lloyd Spiegel. Spiegel will bring his bluesy-folk sound live from The Cole Clark Factory. From there, the Global Livestream will make its way around the world, east to west, welcoming artist performances and a variety of genres from countries spanning Korea to Pakistan, Russia to Uganda, Germany to Brazil, and ending in the U.S. at 6:00 p.m. PT.

Over the course of the 12 hour livestream, other notable performers will unite the world in music, including Brass for Africa, a Uganda-based music charity that delivers music education with integrated life-skills training to over 1,000 young people in Uganda, Liberia and Rwanda; NEEDSHES, a Moscow-based alt-rock band from Uzbekistan recently showcased at MONDO NYC 2020; veteran Filipino alt-rock band Mayonnaise; Lithuanian pop sensation and actress Jurga; Turkish jazz guitarist Cem Tuncer and his quartet; Spain’s flamenco-inspired singer-songwriter El Kanka; Peru’s emerging hip hop artist A.C.O.; acclaimed New York jazz and classical pianist Dan Tepfer; and North Carolina’s guitar sorceress Christie Lenée.

Also to note, the Livestream will feature a live video of American composer John Cage’s piece “As Slow As Possible,” being played on a specially built pipe organ at St. Burchardi Church in Halberstadt, Germany. The performance began in 2001, and it is scheduled to end in the year 2640. For this livestream, we will hear one hour of the piece – just a tiny fraction of its full, 5.6 million hour length – starting at 8:30 a.m. PT.

A complete list of performers and schedule (subject to change) is included below.

The Global Livestream will take place on Wednesday, January 20, on the Believe in Music platform, powered by Swapcard and is free to all who would like to participate by registering at https://attend.believeinmusic.tv. All performances will be absolutely live, with the artists interacting with each other in between their sets.

Believe in Music week (January 18-22, 2021) is the online, global gathering to unite and support the people who bring music to the world. In addition to the Global Livestream, participants will have access to 150-plus interviews; professional development and training sessions for all sectors of the music products, pro audio and entertainment technology industries; and NAMM Foundation education for music educators and administrators, nonprofit professionals and college-aged students and faculty, among others. Education and training tracks include Business, Audio Production and Technology, Entertainment Technology and Artists, as well as others.

Official Hashtag: #BelieveinMusic

2021 Believe in Music week Global Livestream Performers
All times are listed in Pacific Time (UTC -8)

Artist/Band Name Start (PT) Country Website
Lloyd Spiegel   6:00am Australia lloydspiegel.com
Love X Stereo  6:15am South Korea lovexstereo.com
Mayonnaise  6:30am Philippines mayonnaiseph.com
Charlie Lim  6:45am Singapore charlielim.net
Varga Core  7:00am Pakistan instagram.com/vargacoreofficial
Brass for Africa  7:15am Uganda brassforafrica.org
Chin2 Bhosle  7:30am India chin2bhosle.com
Folk Masti  7:45am India instagram.com/folkmasti
Needshes  8:00am Russia needshes.com/epk
Jurga  8:15am Lithuania facebook.com/jurgaseduikyte
John Cage, “As Slow As Possible”  8:30am Germany en.wikipedia.org/wiki/As_Slow_as_Possible
Joy Bogat  9:30am Germany joybogatmusic.com
Kaak  9:45am Germany wirsindkaak.com
Michèl von Wussow 10:00am Germany michelvonwussow.de
Cem Tuncer Quartet 10:15am Turkey cemtuncer.com
Madrigal 10:30am Turkey instagram.com/madrigalofficial
Alex Gariazzo & Michele Guaglio 10:45am Italy micheleguaglio.com
alexgariazzo.com
Abaji 11:00am France abaji.net
Emma McGann 11:15am United Kingdom emmamcgann.com
And/Or 11:30am United Kingdom facebook.com/AndOr.Sounds
El Kanka 11:45am Spain elkanka.com
Seiva 12:15pm Portugal seivaonline.com
Cavemen 12:30pm Nigeria instagram.com/the.cavemen
Victor Ademofe 12:40pm Nigeria instagram.com/victorademofe
Femi Leye 12:50pm Nigeria instagram.com/femi.leye
Khemmiesings  1:00pm Nigeria instagram.com/Khemmiesings
Temilayo Abodunrin  1:15pm Nigeria temilayoabodunrin.com
Raquel Coutinho   1:30pm Brazil instagram.com/raquelcoutinho.oficial
Trampa  1:45pm Brazil instagram.com/tramparock
Ligiana Costa  2:00pm Brazil ligiana.com
A.C.O  2:15pm Peru instagram.com/aco_musica
Budaya  2:30pm Mexico instagram.com/budayamusic
Tempus Quartet  2:45pm Mexico facebook.com/tempusquartetviolines
Omar Quezada  3:00pm Dominican Republic omarquezada.com
Andrew Cassara  3:15pm Canada andrewcassaramusic.com
Jiayi He  3:30pm United States HeHarmonica.com
Dan Tepfer  3:45pm United States dantepfer.com
BJ Griffin  4:00pm United States bjgriffinmusic.com
Wordsmith  4:15pm United States wordsmithmusic.com
Christie Lenée  4:30pm United States christielenee.com
Bayou City Brass Band   4:45pm United States bayoucitybrassband.com
Andre Thierry  5:00pm United States andrethierry.com
The Sledge Grits Band  5:15pm United States thesledgegritsband.wordpress.com
The Latest News and Gear in Your Inbox - Sign Up Today!